International Congress of Acarology Home IEC LOC Funds Directory

ICA 2018
ICA 2014
ICA 2010
ICA 2006

ICA 2002
ICA 1998
ICA 1994
ICA 1990
ICA 1986
ICA 1982
ICA 1978
ICA 1974
ICA 1971
ICA 1967
ICA 1963

The International Congress of Acarology (ICA)
is the major international meeting for acarologists in the world. It is usually held every four years (with one exception in 1970s) in countries selected by the International Executive Committee (IEC) of ICA. 

The ICA also compiles a directory of acarologists in the world. The most recent directory, compiled by Dr Valerie Behan-Pelletier (Executive Secretary IEC 1998-2002), was published in 2002.

The continuity of these two events is assured through the activities of the International Executive Committee.

Congress proceedings are published after each Congress, usually edited by Local Organizing Committee (LOC) of each congress.

The detailed rules for ICA are published in the by-laws. The original By-laws (1974) were published and the reference is:

ANONYMOUS. 1979. Rules for the International Congress of Acarology (ICAC). Pp. 737-741 in: E. Piffl, ed. Procedings of the Fourth International Congress of Acarology (Saalfalden, 1974). Akadémiai Kiadó, Budapest.

The 1998, 2002 and 2006 By-laws have not yet been published in print.  

ICA News

The XVth International Congress of Acarology will be held in Turkey in September 2018

Honorary Lifetime Member
Elected 2006 David Cook (USA)
Elected 2006 Carlos Flechtmann (Brazil)
Elected 2006 Anita Hoffmann (Mexico)
Elected 2006 Gerald Krantz (USA)
Elected 2006 Ting-Huan Wen (China)

Elected 2002 E.E. Lindquist (Canada)
Elected 1998 G.O. Evans (UK)
Elected 1998 R. Schuster (Austria)
Elected 1994 Yu. Balashov (Russia)
Elected 1994 A. Fain (Belgium)
Elected 1994 W. Knulle (Germany) 

Copyright  International Congress of Acarology   Last updated 12 June 2017 by Zhi-Qiang Zhang     Acknowledgments